CAF launches New African Nations Cup

Thursday, September 13, 2007

By its statutes, mission statements and goals, the African Football Confederation, CAF, is committed to promoting and developing football in Africa.

These statutes proclaim, in the article concerning the goals of CAF that these are the development of cooperation in friendship, of exchanges and solidarity among Member Associations and among zonal Unions, as well as the organisation of national and international competitions.   

Beyond the club competitions, the MTN Champions’ League and the Confederation’s Cup, CAF also regularly organises numerous other competitions for all age categories, as well as for the Olympic Games, for Women’s Football, for Futsal, and, more recently, also for Beach Soccer.

The African Cup of Nations, the CAN, the 26th edition of which will be staged at the beginning of next year, 2008, in Ghana, has become an outstanding international sport event and a prestigious tournament. The CAN owes this standing to the dedicated effort and the concrete reforms undertaken by CAF, but also to the progress made by our Associations and to their active and regular participation in our tournaments.

The Confederation of African football, during its Executive Committee in Johannesburg has announced today 11 September 2007 the creation of a new competition for only players participating in their country local league. The new competition will start in 2008.

 ‘Within this context and with the purpose of achieving the set goals, we strive to give to the local African players the possibility to showcase their talents and abilities, but also to bring to a higher level the national championships in Africa, and to boost their importance. We have decided to create a new competition that will showcase the best national teams of Africa, exclusively featuring players who are active in the national championships and qualified to play the ongoing season.’ said CAF President Issa Hayatou 

Expatriate players, regardless of where they play, even in Africa, cannot be qualified to take part in this new African Championship of Nations.   

This competition will take place in two phases

The eight finalists will be determined the following way:

North Zone                                                   One qualified team
West A Zone                                                One qualified team
West B Zone                                                One qualified team
Centre Zone                                                 One qualified team
East Zone                                                     One qualified team
South Zone                                                   Two qualified teams
Host Country of the final tournament              One qualified team

This Championship will be staged once every two years, alternating with the African Cup of Nations. The qualifying phase will take place every even year and the final every odd year.

Source: The Point