Two new Chiefs sworn-in

Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Two newly appointed chiefs for Lower Saloum and Niamina Dankunku Districts namely Messers Alhaji Ali Jaye Touray and Alhaji Kebba Ceesay were recently sworn-in at ceremonies held Ballangharr and Dankunku villages respectively.

Alhaji Ali Jaye Touray replaces Alhaji Katim Touray who was retired after serving for 33 years in office while Alhaji Kebba Ceesay replaces Alh. Samba Lowo Ceesay, who served for II years.

Speaking at the swearing ceremony of Chief Alhaji Ali Jaye Touray, the APRC Desk Officer for the Central River Region, Hon Sainey Mbye urged the people of Lower Saloum to support the new chief in executing his functions. He then called on the chief to serve the people of Lower Saloum efficiently and effectively with out fear or favour and remain loyal to President Jammeh and the APRC party.

Speaking on behalf of Chief Touray, Musa Njalleh Touray urged the people of Lower Saloum to support the new chief to enable him to perform effectively. He emphasized the need for cooperation and unity among the people of the area for meaningful development.

Author: Written by Abdou Rahman Sallah
Source: The Daily Observer